Student Honors

Student Honors


This year Covid19 has brought many challenges our way and along with it proof that our students can accomplish anything even in the midst of a pandemic.

  • Amanda Acosta (Levitz lab) was appointed as a Yale Ciencia Academy Fellow for 2020. This innovative program is part of the Career Development Program at Ciencia Puerto Rico. As part of her work at Ciencia Puerto Rico, Amanda also attended the American Association for the Advancement of Science 2020 Meeting. In addition, Amanda also led the project Ask A Scientist, a COVID-19 Collaborative Project between the National Science Policy Network and the Federation of American Scientists Connecting Public and State Government with Scientist COVID-19 Insight. This network of 500+ scientists answered 1500+ questions.
  • Nevin Yusufova’s (Melnick lab) abstract titled "Histone 1 Mutations Drive Lymphomagenesis By Inducing Primitive Stem Cell Functions and Epigenetic Instructions through Profound 3D Re-Organization of the B-Cell Genome" was published in Blood ( and won an Abstract Achievement Award.
  •  Tapojyoti Das (Eliezer lab) received a merit-based BPS Travel Award for his presentation in 2020 at the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA.


It’s been another exceptional year on York Avenue, and BCMB Students have got the awards to show for it!

  • Yujie Fan (Studer Lab) was awarded the Frank Lappin Horsfall, Jr Fellowship for the 2019-2020 academic year.
  • Amanda Acosta (Levitz Lab) was a featured scientist in Rockefeller University’s “Scientists of New York #sciony” blog. Read more about Amanda’s experiences here!
  • BCMB students Alyna Katti (Dow Lab) and Vidur Garg (Hadjantonakis Lab) took home 1st and 2nd place in the Annual du Vigneaud Second year & Above Poster Awards.


Summer is almost here, and scientific accomplishment is in the air! After a stellar 2017 (see below for more details), BCMB Students have continued to thrive during the first half of 2018.

  • Maria Bustillo (Zallen lab) and Nevin Yusufova (Melnick lab) who were both recognized for their outstanding research at the 38th Annual du Vignuead Research Symposium in April 2018. Maria won 1st place for her Student Talk, and Nevin won 2nd place in the Poster awards category.
  • Christopher Notzel (Kafsack lab) and Theodoros Giavridis (Sadelain Lab) who were named as the 2018 recipients of the prestigious Julian R. Rachele Prize. The Rachele Prize is the highest student award presented by WCGS, and it honors students who have published a major contribution to research in a scientific journal.
  • Aaron Chang (Scheinberg Lab) who has been named as the winner of the 2018 Distinguished Student Commencement Speaker Award. This marks the fifth year in a row where a BCMB Student has been chosen by her or his peers to deliver a commencement address.


Over the past 12 months, several BCMB students have been recognized for their outstanding contributions to science.