Honors and Awards (2020-2021)

New Faculty Appointments

  • Lorenzo Galluzzi - Assistant Professor Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Michael Harrison - Assistant Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Benjamin Kleaveland - Assistant Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • James Lo - Associate Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Maria Diaz-Meco - Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Anna Seung Ha Nam - Assistant Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Alban Ordureau - Assistant Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Michael Roehrl - Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Agnel Sfeir - Professor of Molecular Biology

Career Development Awards and Individual Honors

  • Dr. Marcin Imielinski, an assistant professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, and Dr. Elena Piskounova, an assistant professor of cell biology in dermatology, both at Weill Cornell Medicine, were awarded the 2021 Pershing Square Sohn Prize for Young Investigators in Cancer Research on May 18.
  • Eight Weill Cornell Medicine faculty members have received Young Physician-Scientist Awards from the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), the most awarded to any institution this year. The 2021 award recipients are Drs. Oleh Akchurin, Parag Goyal, Jiwon Kim, John Lee, Jyoti Mathad, Santosh Murthy, Anna Nam and Lisa Giulino Roth.
  • Dr. Effie Apostolou, an assistant professor of molecular biology in medicine, has received a 2021 Emerging Leader Award from the Mark Foundation Award for Cancer Research, which recognizes promising early-career projects aimed at addressing unmet needs in cancer research. The Mark Foundation gives the Emerging Leader Awards in an effort to empower scientists who are pursuing innovative, high-risk/high-reward projects that have significant potential to improve outcomes for cancer patients.
  • Dr. Laura C. Alonso, chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, was selected to serve as chairperson of the Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology Study Section of the NIH's Center for Scientific Review, for a two-year term which began July 1, 2020. Members are selected on the basis of their demonstrated competence and achievement in their scientific discipline as evidenced by the quality of research accomplishments, publications in scientific journals, and other significant scientific activities, achievements and honors.
Need more info?
Ask a question
Follow us on

Weill Cornell Medicine Graduate School of Medical Sciences 1300 York Ave. Box 65 New York, NY 10065 Phone: (212) 746-6565 Fax: (212) 746-5981