Honors and Awards (2019-2020)

New Faculty Appointments

  • Alessio Accardi - Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Structural Biology
  • Laura Alonso - Assistant Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Marcus GoncalvesAssistant Professor of Biochemistry and Structural Biology
  • Laura KirkmanAssociate Professor of Molecular Biology
  • Tobias Meyer - Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Structural Biology
  • Jorge Moscat - Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Mary Teruel - Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Structural Biology

Career Development Awards and Individual Honors

  • Dr. Marcin Imielinski, an assistant professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, and Dr. Elena Piskounova, an assistant professor of cell biology in dermatology, both at Weill Cornell Medicine, were awarded the 2021 Pershing Square Sohn Prize for Young Investigators in Cancer Research on May 18.

  • Eight Weill Cornell Medicine faculty members have received Young Physician-Scientist Awards from the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), the most awarded to any institution this year. The 2021 award recipients are Drs. Oleh Akchurin, Parag Goyal, Jiwon Kim, John Lee, Jyoti Mathad, Santosh Murthy, Anna Nam and Lisa Giulino Roth.
  • Dr. Effie Apostolou, an assistant professor of molecular biology in medicine, has received a 2021 Emerging Leader Award from the Mark Foundation Award for Cancer Research, which recognizes promising early-career projects aimed at addressing unmet needs in cancer research. The Mark Foundation gives the Emerging Leader Awards in an effort to empower scientists who are pursuing innovative, high-risk/high-reward projects that have significant potential to improve outcomes for cancer patients.
  • Dr. Shahin Rafii, director of the Ansary Stem Cell Institute and chief of the Division of Regenerative Medicine at Weill Cornell Medicine, has received an Outstanding Investigator Award (R35) from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), for an ambitious project to accelerate regenerative medicine technology.
  • Drawing on New York’s diverse population, Weill Cornell Medicine scientists have been awarded grants from the New York Genome Center (NYGC) to study how several types of cancer differ in patients with different genetic backgrounds and point to precision treatments for groups that have been historically underrepresented in cancer research. 

  • Dr. Anna S. Nam, an assistant professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at Weill Cornell Medicine, has received a 2020 Early Independence Award from the National Institutes of Health’s (NIH) High Risk, High Reward Research program and a 2020 Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award for Medical Scientists
  • Dr. Lewis Cantley, the Meyer Director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medicine and NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center, has won the 2020 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research.

Need more info?
Ask a question
Follow us on

Weill Cornell Medicine Graduate School of Medical Sciences 1300 York Ave. Box 65 New York, NY 10065 Phone: (212) 746-6565 Fax: (212) 746-5981